Sitting At Our Savior’s Feet

Sitting At Our Savior’s Feet

A Story- a rare peek inside.

Sitting here listening to Tremaine Hawkins  ”Changed” thinking about my childrens’ father. A person that i’d known for 40 years. I think how much this song describes my life and quite possibly his. He became a minister, then an Elder. I became a strong woman in the Lord. Both of us far, and I mean far from where we started however we both became servants of the most High God. Over 29 years ago, he was there to support when my father passed on, just a year ago in March 2012, when my niece and brother- in- law both passed in the same day, I traveled back home, he was there to offer support to our family.. As he said, he’d known my niece all of her life since she was a baby.  I recall  we were sitting on the front porch of the home where I grew up talking, going over our lives and how far God has brought us and how God has blessed us. My oldest son,  mentioned  his dad’s hair loss;  why he got it at such an early age; and wanted to know if it was hereditary, all of the other males in his family still had hair. His father looked up at him, smiled and said ..”ah you don’t have to worry, your mama gave me this, she worried the hair right out of my head” He went on to say that , he said that he was happy for my walk with the Lord and  If I could be as stubborn and determined in my walk with the Lord as I was when I was walking in the other direction then I will truly make a difference in the lives of others . I mentioned that I felt the same about his walk with the Lord, because he possessed that same determination and stubbornness. We both laughed. ” We are, who we are”-  There we were sitting , discussing the Bible and for a moment began to challenge each other, then he said, “wait a minute we’re both saying the same thing”. Through out our lives God took our short comings and used them for His good.  

Three months ago, once again I traveled back home for a home-going – His. April of this year, he went home to rest in the Lord. I mentioned the hair story  to his older brother and he said “you guys were just kids” That was so true ,we met when I was 15. I am truly thankful to God for the “change” that He made in our lives. Over the past 30 plus years, despite much and once again I do mean “much”, we were able to look back and laugh. May  he rest in peace.   

Leave a comment